Nobel prize in chemistry for 2004 appreciation of controlled, ubiquitin-dependent protein degradation

In the article three Nobel laureates in chemistry for 2004 and their achievements are presen- ted. Their discovery of the first described function of ubiquitin, namely its participation in the control- led protein degradation is shortly reviewed. Moreover, the role of ubiquitin in the regulation of other cellular processes is shown.

Oligo-and monomeric E3 ubiquitin ligase RING finger domain construction and operation

This article provides basic information on proteolysis involving the ubiquitin / proteasome 26S, tightly regulated process essential for the proper functioning of cells. The focus is on discussing the proteins containing the RING finger domain and function as E3 ubiquitin ligases involved in the ubiquitination of proteins destined for degradation in the proteasome. Highlighted the RING finger domain in action oligo (SCF, Parkin, VCB, APC / C) and monomer (c-Cbl, MDM2, BRCA1, CHFR, IAP) ubiquitin ligases.

Proteolysis of the cell cycle regulators

In response to various external and internal stimuli stability , and thus the amount , subject to a number of regulatory proteins in eukaryotic cells of "dynamic " control precision by proteolysis. In general, proteins targeted for degradation in a specific way wyznakowywane by complexation with ubiquitin , a small (76 AA) commonly occurring globular protein .

Cell cycle checkpoints: if we know Their molecular basis

Presented scientific silhouettes awarded the 2001 Nobel Prize in physiology and medicine ? Leland Hartwell , Paul Nurse'a and Timothy Hunt , the pioneers of molecular mechanisms regulating the cell cycle . Their research mainly due to the detection of protein serine- threonine kinases called cyklinozależnymi , due to the regulation of their activity by specific protein ? cyclins . These kinases subsequently proved to be essential for normal cell cycle progression . Classic has become the concepts introduced by Hartwell START cycle checkpoints .

The Editorial Board
Andrzej Łukaszyk - przewodniczący, Zofia Bielańska-Osuchowska, Szczepan Biliński, Mieczysław Chorąży, Aleksander Koj, Włodzimierz Korochoda, Leszek Kuźnicki, Aleksandra Stojałowska, Lech Wojtczak

Editorial address:
Katedra i Zakład Histologii i Embriologii Uniwersytetu Medycznego w Poznaniu, ul. Święcickiego 6, 60-781 Poznań, tel. +48 61 8546453, fax. +48 61 8546440, email:

PBK Postępby biologi komórki